Duck Egg Blue in My Dining Room

I found the perfect inspiration piece for a china cabinet on Pinterest!

70e0aa5c1a6bfd16fe8e0590de995f57

Isn’t she lovely? I love the gray but we already have gray walls in there. Apparently I have a little obsession with Duck Egg Blue because I keep adding splashes of it all around the house. The following makes up the biggest splash yet!

Do you remember that awesome farmhouse table that my sweet hubby built for me for Christmas? It needed an equally awesome China Cabinet to keep it company 🙂 Naturally I insisted it would be the perfect gift for our 10th anniversary from my hubs. He reluctantly agreed.

@ over 8 feet tall and 5 feet wide – – – Here is what we came up with together…

SONY DSC SONY DSC

The idea was to put some burlap screens behind the glass and hide the bottom two shelves. The burlap @ Joanns yesterday was seriously lacking so for now this is what we’ve got. We might still do burlap or there was some interesting eyelet looking lace or we may even leave it as is. What do you think? I just liked the idea of not everything being exposed. Momma needs to hide a mess sometimes you know?!

SONY DSC

We used Annie Sloan Chalk Paint on the chairs before we glazed them but since this was fresh wood (hubby built it from scratch i.e. rough cut lumber) we used Behr Enamel with primer in it from The Home Depot.

SONY DSC

I robbed the adjacent foyer for a couple new pieces of art and we made a floating log shelf from a beech tree limb (love that smooth bark) to hang on the wall next to the china cabinet. More on that unique shelf to come!

SONY DSC

Oh my goodness how I love the colors in my dining room now! Who’s ready for a feast?

SONY DSC

Wonder if I should try out some shades for my chandelier now?

This entry was posted in DIY, Furniture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Duck Egg Blue in My Dining Room

  1. Pingback: Kitchen Table Redo : Duck Egg Blue | Charming-Ollie

  2. Pingback: Rustic Floating Log Shelf | Charming-Ollie

  3. ckirk says:

    Love love love this. I have been on the look out for something similar to this only half the size. Very inspiring!

  4. Pingback: Oops! – Robin’s Egg Blue in My Dining Room | Charming-Ollie

  5. Pingback: Seeded Glass Entertainment Center | Charming-Ollie

Leave a Reply

