Farmhouse Table Love Part 3

Have you ever heard of Annie Sloan Chalk Paint? It’s kind of amazing.  I saw a great ASCP tutorial on youtube and was introduced to Blue Egg Brown Nest and her awesome DIY style. She rocks the refinishing business.

23409_10100739162729091_112716425_n

So here we go – you don’t have to sand and prime furniture and such to paint it with Annie Sloan Chalk Paint. Do you know how awful it would be to try to sand down all those spindles in the pressed back chairs we need for our farmhouse table? Well it doesn’t come cheap but it dries quickly and is perfect for what we needed here. Most people use the annie sloan clear and dark wax over the paint but my sweet hubs is getting good with the glaze mixture and finishing that way so we stuck with what we knew worked for us. We (meaning hubs) did spray a polyurethane finish in the end just for a little more protection. I mean really – we have 3 boys… Do you know what the table and area around it looks like after 3 boys finish a meal? Sheesh!

I’m a little bit obsessed with gray and yellow these days. We did the newest nursery in those colors and I couldn’t be happier! So after perusing Pinterest (there’s his favorite word again) in the OB office one afternoon – we ended up with Arles… The yellow is a lot brighter until you add the wax or glaze in our case.

Here’s an idea of Arles:

162411130282077014_E3j05QJO_c

Can you imagine how pretty it will be with our gray walls and wood wall? Aaaaaahhhh… Ok back from daydreaming….

I wiped them all down. Hubs sprayed them with the Annie Sloan Chalk Paint (which you can spray by the way). I distressed them with the random orbital sander (how do you like the proper tool name hubs?). Next up Corey, my sweet hubs glazed them and then when they cured he sprayed them with polyurethane to protect our nicely distressed finished.

2013-01-14_19-10-25_292

Yes I visited these lovely chairs in the basement before they were cured enough to bring upstairs to the dining room… Don’t you just love a painted/distressed/glazed finish? I’m a wee bit obsessed.

And even better –

SONY DSC  SONY DSC

Seriously loving the results! Now to finish dreaming up the plans for our new super tall china cabinet…

This entry was posted in DIY, Furniture. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Farmhouse Table Love Part 3

  1. what is the name of the machine your hubby used to make those legs??? I am kind of a newby to power tools…I love my table saw, I am learning to use my scroll saw and I have to admit I am getting pretty good with a router. LOL. I would love to make legs like that!!!! 🙂

    • Oh good for you! I’m not very coordinated so he does all the tool work to save my digits! ha! He uses a Lathe with special knives to make the legs…. He has to put the wood together, square it up and then it spins when he puts it on the lathe. He steadily moves the knives in and out to make adjustments to the legs. I love furniture and it is one of my favorite things to watch!

  2. By the way….try making that chalk paint…. It is super easy and wayyyy cheaper.. Just sayin 🙂

  3. Pingback: Duck Egg Blue in My Dining Room | Charming-Ollie

  4. Pingback: Seeded Glass Entertainment Center | Charming-Ollie

  5. Rosey says:

    can your husband make those table legs again, I would love to buy them.

Leave a Reply

